Que Syrah Syrah: Wine Tasting in Santa Barbara County

Posted on January 5, 2010. Filed under: Family, Food, My nephew Sam, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , |

I was all set to do a complete blog post about my great day wine tasting with my brother Eli, my sister in law Becky and my nephew Sam on Saturday (January 2, 2010). The weather was perfect (yes, it was actually 72 degrees and sunny), and the wines from the Central Coast are wonderful. We really could not go wrong.

Wine Tasting at Zaca Mesa with Eli and Sam (photo courtesy Rebecca Stanek)

But wait – there’s more! As a bonus, this was my nephew Sam’s first wine tasting. Since Sam is 2 1/2 months old, that’s not saying much, since pretty much everything that takes place outside of Eli and Becky’s house is Sam’s first time doing anything.

So here I was all set to write about all the wines we tasted. And I couldn’t wait to use my favorite awesome wine pun: Que Syrah Syrah. But then Becky went ahead and wrote about it at their blog, The Beckyan Deli, before I had the chance.

And since I am nothing if not practical, why reinvent the wheel? Please check out Becky’s reviews of all the wines we tasted at the Zaca Mesa Vineyard and the Qupe Tasting Room in her post which you can find right here. I do want to mention that the Zaca Mesa 2006 Estate Syrah was by far our favorite wine of the day. But before you race out to buy some, you should know that it was just released three weeks ago and isn’t available anywhere except the winery.  Sorry.

Oh, one more thing. During our drive back down the coast to Santa Barbara, this is how we ended the day:

Not a bad way to end the day

It did not suck.

To see all my photos from our day of wine tasting, check them out on Flickr

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Que Syrah Syrah: Wine Tasting in Santa Barbara County”

RSS Feed for Amanda's OCD: Observations, Commentary and Diatribes Comments RSS Feed

Yeah, from the looks of that last picture, it definitely did not suck. Hope that 2010 is treating you well so far.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • That’s me!

    Just your typical snarky Yankees-loving sports fanatic TiVo junkie.

  • What’s on my mind?

  • Who doesn't love pictures?

  • Who's reading my mind?

    • 18,525 hits

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

