#PodcampAZ 2009: Tale of the Tweets

Posted on November 18, 2009. Filed under: Social Media, Tale of the Tweets, Travel | Tags: , |

As you no doubt know by now, one of my main reasons for heading out to Phoenix this weekend wasn’t just to enjoy Cardinals’ tailgating and Arizona Fall League baseball, but to partake of PodcampAZ 2009. Want to know more about what a Podcamp is? I could explain it to you, but I’m lazy and the good people of PodcampAZ already did it for me. Just click here.

PodcampAZ 2009

I was going to put together a full overview of my day at PodcampAZ, but again, I’m feeling pretty lazy. And since I live-tweeted many of the sessions that day, I am going to rely on the Tale of the Tweets. If you’re interested in finding more Twitter chatter from both days, as well as links to presentations, just search #podcampaz.

Overall, I give it a big thumbs up. The content was compelling and engaging, and of course extremely on-point for me, as I embark on my next adventure. The only downside was having to choose between so many great presentations on so many topics I wanted to learn about! Blogging, podcasting, social media, tips, tricks, dos, donts, and everything in between. Guess I’ll have to come back next year.

I have to give some special shout-outs to some of the coolest, friendliest and warmest people I’ve met in a long time. Thanks to everybody who made me feel at home and welcomed me to Phoenix, but especially Tyler Hurst (my host), Katie Charland, Bubba, Jay Baer, Clintus McGintus, Ms Herr, Brian Shaler, Kevin Gawthrope (even though he’s a Red Sox fan) and countless others, including the organizers. Thank you thank you thank you.

Without further ado, let’s get to the PodcampAZ 2009 Tale of the Tweets:

Hello #podcampaz! Why must you start so early in the morning?

Thank you thank you thank you to whomever brought the magical mini pumpkin cupcakes to #podcampaz.

OH: “So is WordPress a website editor?” #podcampaz

Hey @dawkblitz, there’s a dude with a Dawkins Eagles jersey in @jaybaer‘s #podcampaz session.

Coolest. Business card. Ever. From @jaybaer #podcampaz http://post.ly/Cbu3

OH: “Oh yeah. I remember you. The taint!” #thingstakenoutofcontext #podcampaz

Agreed! RT @azbubba this session may not be the most informative, but it’s definitely the most fun! #podcampaz

Spotted @chuckreynolds riding in the bed of a black pickup truck. #podcampaz

Lunching with the Tempe Nerds. Yes, that’s a group here. Love it. #podcampaz

It’s so easy to stalk @brianshaler at #podcampaz

“If you build it, they will come.” To your site/community. Nice use of Field of Dreams by @brianshaler. #podcampaz

Me either! Panic! RT @azbubba social media question: I still don’t have a digg user account. How bad is that?

Personal branding lesson from @brianshaler: keep control over your image and brand. #podcampaz

Session morphed into awesome jokes about @brianshaler‘s Movember mustache. With sunglasses to complete the look. #podcampaz

Must. Have. Pillow. RT @azbubba because @brianshaler pimped the site, I made it relevant. http://bit.ly/13tN8G @chuckreynolds #podcampaz

Hey @throwboy, can I have a #podcampaz pillow? Pretty please? It would be great for my flight back to NYC.

It’s not about the tools, it’s about the community you build with the tools. And what you do with it. @gawthrok at #podcampaz

“Eat like a bird. Poop like an elephant. #channelingguykawasaki #podcampaz

I’d like to call out another outstanding presentation: Jay Baer’s 11 Must Dos for the Serious Blogger, which can be found here.

I must confess that I skipped Day 2 of PodcampAZ to go to the Arizona Cardinals game.  As Clintus said, I’m more of a sports fan than a geek. This is true. It’s a choice I don’t regret and my experiences at the game (particularly the insane tailgating) will be the subject of a yet-to-be-written blog post.  If you want to check out the photos of my experience at the Cardinals game, you can find them on Flickr.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “#PodcampAZ 2009: Tale of the Tweets”

RSS Feed for Amanda's OCD: Observations, Commentary and Diatribes Comments RSS Feed

Pleasure to have you down, even though you only made it one day. I do believe there is a PodCampNYC!

These New Yorkers are slackers. It’s much more fun to come out and hang with the Phoenix peeps.

I’m glad I got to meet and spend time with you! What a weekend!

BTW, did you ever get your pillow?

Sadly, I did not get my pillow. Guess I’ll have to come back next year!

Hello Amanda! It was a blast meeting you. And a blast reading your tale of the tweets. It me of the of many of the fun and smart things that I enjoyed at #podcamaz, and also reminds me of all the goodness I missed. This is always so much going on, inevitably we can’t go to it all.

I’m really glad you got to connect with Jay Baer. He is definitely one of my favorites. Arizona is lucky to have him so rooted within our community.

As for the cupcakes, I believe they were from @butterandme. They were one of our event sponsors and provided four boxes of mini cupcakes over the course of the weekend. (website: http://butterandme.com/Home.html)

Toodeloo for now. I look forward to seeing you again, perhaps this time in New York.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • That’s me!

    Just your typical snarky Yankees-loving sports fanatic TiVo junkie.

  • What’s on my mind?

  • Who doesn't love pictures?

  • Who's reading my mind?

    • 18,525 hits

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

